Story of Food in Bali

The food scene in Bali is truly diverse that I couldn’t recognize many of the spices and ingredients used in the dishes. Not that I am well-versed in the art of cooking but living in the same region, we are bound to have some similarities in our cooking. One example is that I found diced coconut bits in the vegetable dishes!

  • Made’s Warung: Made’s Warung is on the pricey side but they serves really good food! I ordered Ayam Betutu (Balinese food which is unique among all Asian food I tried!) I recognized shallots, garlic, ginger, chili and peanuts but the rest, I have no idea. I would say this is a must-tried dish when you are in a Bali. On the next, we have the pork satay and this reminds me of home; we have very similar type of satay if you go to Chinatown in Yangon where the majority of Chinese immigrants settled down after the World Wars; different from the Singapore satay.
  • Babi Guling Ibu Oka where we had the babi guling (roasted suckling pig). Chinese has fantastic ways of roasting pork but totally different from how Balinese handle their pig. The entire pig was marinated with lots of spices and I have never had any roasted pork meat like that before! We have got the pull-pork infused with all the spices, deep-fried pork meat, pig blood sausages and vegetable dish on the rice.
  • Naughty Nuri. Oh, how I love Nuri – if I have a daughter, I would consider naming her Nuri in the honour of the best pork ribs that I have ever had. The meat is so tenderly grilled and the sauce is just divine. I had the mental image that the pigs died happily and looking us with pride from heaven how awesome they taste. (I am sorry! I can’t help it!) Thinking about this and translating my thoughts into words already made me crave for Nuri. Oh, how I love Nuri…
  • Bebek Bengil: If you are in Bali, you shouldn’t go home without trying their crispy duck; Bebek Bengil and Bebek Tepi Sawah are the most popular places for this and we went to the latter because we were told the taste is more local and authentic. The duck was marinated with the Balinese spices and deep-fried to crispy in very high temperature to the point that you can eat the crispy part of the bones!
Leave a Reply

