Trekking to Everest Base Camp

Trekking to Everest Base Camp? Definitely not a trip that I would do, if 1-year younger I find out about it. But hey, that’s what I will be doing for my coming birthday. I decided that I want to do something meaningful or challenging for this coming birthday, so I was looking up for inspiration and I got myself into the idea of doing a trekking. (Bhutan/Tibet was another option but I didn’t find that it struck true to me as compared to this)

This trip requires a high-level of physical fitness and needs training for months prior to the trip – which is very daunting for someone like me who dislike physical training. But, I managed to train myself up over the months regularly and religiously – something that I feel very proud of myself. I have to work out 5-6 days a week – involving a lot of cardio exercises, strengthening workouts and endurance training (basically, long hikes and walks over the weekend) to prepare for this. Even then, I doubt that I am anywhere near the fitness level that I needed.

The trip will take about roughly 2-weeks. We will start off from Lukla, fly-in from Kathmandu, the journey takes 8 days of hiking (from 3 to 8 hours each day) to reach to the Everest Base Camp (5,364 meters, 17,598 feet) and 2 days of which are to acclimatize and rest. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to see the sunrise on Mount Everest on my birthday but a few days later – but I think this is more than good enough for me.

Will I be able to accomplish this? That is still yet to be seen but I am praying really hard, hoping that it would be a wonderful and fulfilling experience. Perhaps, life-changing in a way too.

Leave a Reply

